This week, we presented our findings regarding the various mediums that could be used for our projects. The aim is to branch out and consider other options outside of what we’re used to, while also thinking about what kids of the 5 – 11 age range will be able to comfortably take in. A project can change drastically depending on the medium used, and the accessibility of said medium is a great factor in whether or not the work will gain much ground with kids.

The powerpoint that I had made was done within the lesson. Due to my late arrival, I had less time than I wished to complete the task, but I pulled through regardless. A quick, 6-slide powerpoint with one slide per medium and an opening slide. It can be seen at the bottom, but first I wish to elaborate on my line of thinking for each medium. Why I chose it, and why I think it would be effective.

1. Short Story

My most experienced field, and one that caters to my strengths. A short story aimed toward children revolve around a specific moral or life lesson for that kid to learn. Looking at popular examples – linked in the powerpoint – shows that the story should be no more than 500 words. Even then, that length is pushing it. I went for this as it is simple, but also that one – with application of literary skill – can push forward complicated and even psychological subjects under the guise of a basic story.

2. Interactive Fiction

In my experience, a child will take in something that is considered fun. In today’s age, children grow up around digital products and most importantly – gaming. By handing the child a game, they will be more than willing to play it. Educational or not, it won’t matter if it’s fun. By leaning toward interactive fiction, I am accomplishing many things. One, teaching that kid about the process of cause and effect, how choices matter and the consequences for being reckless. Two, I am honing the art in which I wish to specialize in and make a career out of. Three, handing that child an experience where they are engaged in both fun and learning. Giving them something that makes them feel as if they’re in school is counterproductive. Many children will not take the lessons in as greatly as they might have if they had fun doing so.

3. Narration

For an auditory learner, narration is perfect for them. Someone who is more practical or visual may not find the use of this, but those who learn through hearing can benefit from an otherwise normal piece of fiction or a normal lesson being taught through a calm, practiced voice. Many stories are read out in order to capture that narrative feeling better, and it is no different for this.

4. Webcomic

A webcomic will benefit a visual and practical learner. Providing them with a silly, comical piece that uses art is no different than reading a picture book or a comic. Hence the name, webcomic. Artistic ability is not mandatory, and poor ability may even be used for comical effect in certain cases. The best example for this is a webcomic known as Homestuck – a story about the trials of growing up and the challenges one faces with their own personality.

5. Quiz

Quizzes can teach through trial and error. Give someone a question, they answer wrong, and you tell them the right answer – plus an anecdote about that answer. Using this formula, one can construct this in a far more roundabout and comical manner. Creating seemingly irrelevent questions can teach kids how to see between the lines and understand what is being asked of them.

‘ If Jackson Pollock was a sandwich artist at Subway, what might his boss say about his work? ‘ is the exact same as ‘ What was Jackson Pollock’s art style? ‘.

I will most likely choose 2 or 4 as my mediums. A webcomic sounds interesting and different to my usual methods, while interactive fiction is best as a way to practice writing text adventures. Regardless, below is the powerpoint I presented – with the video evidence of my presentation at the end.

Powerpoint has been lost due to technical difficulties. However, the video evidence shows this as well as my presentation. This is the link to the presentation.

